What is PEGI?

The Pan European Game Information (PEGI) age rating system is designed to help consumers when purchasing video games, to decide if the game’s content is suitable for the player. PEGI was launched in 2003, replacing different national systems with a single unified system for most of Europe.

For games on sale in retail outlets, the age rating is clearly displayed on the packaging. For games sold through the Wii Shop Channel, the age rating is shown on the game’s Details screen.

Age Icons and Descriptors
Each game rated by PEGI displays an age icon and, in some cases, a content descriptor icon/icons.

- Age categories

The PEGI age levels are: 3, 7, 12, 16 and 18. The age icon provides guidance as to the minimum recommended age of the player; it does not indicate the difficulty of the game.

- Content types

Descriptor icons show the type of content found in the game. The severity of the content is determined by the age category. For example, a game rated ‘16’ with a ‘Violence’ descriptor may include stronger content than a game rated ‘7’ with the same ‘Violence’ descriptor.

Violence Game contains depictions of violence.

Sex Game depicts nudity and/or sexual behaviour or sexual references.

Bad Language Game contains bad language.

Drugs Game refers to or depicts the use of drugs.

Fear Game may be frightening or scary for young children.

Discrimination Game contains depictions of, or material which may encourage, discrimination.

Gambling Game encourages or teaches gambling.

Online gameplay Game can be played online with other people.
For more information, please refer to the PEGI website at www.pegi.info.